The Telegram
  • Scholarship for HCCC renamed to honor passing of award supporter

    • email print
  • The Herkimer County Town and Village Highway Superintendent’s Association has renamed their scholarship at Herkimer County Community College in memory of Norman E. Stahlman, an original sponsor and longtime supporter of the scholarship.
    Established in 1999, a scholarship award has been given annually to a Herkimer County resident attending HCCC. As the scholarship fund has grown over the years, the amount awarded also has increased. The scholarship was renamed in 2009 for Fairfield Highway Superintendent William Dillenbeck, also an original sponsor of the scholarship. The award has been renamed to also honor Stahlman and will now be called the Norman E. Stahlman and William F. Dillenbeck Association of Town and Village Superintendents of Highways of Herkimer County Scholarship.
    “Norm was instrumental in getting this scholarship off the ground and worked very hard on its behalf. This name change will honor Norm’s memory for all his hard work for our association for many years. I have been very proud and honored to have this award under my name alone, but will be more honored and proud to have Norm’s name added to the scholarship,” Dillenbeck said in a news release.
    Stahlman died July 9 at the age of 85. He was a sales representative with The Rifenburg Companies and supported scholarship programs at several colleges.
    “Norm was a tireless advocate for higher education, and we are very grateful for his support of this scholarship, our college and our students,” said HCCC President Ann Marie Murray.
    The purpose of the Herkimer County Town and Village Highway Superintendents Association is to encourage good fellowship and exemplify the meaning of cooperation in everyday business and professional life of Herkimer County, to take an active interest in civic affairs by lending aid to movements that make the county a better place in which to live and do business, to promote safety upon the highways and to develop and spread advanced business and professional ideas. The association’s officers include James Nightengale, town of Ohio, president; Carl Stallman, Jr., town of Manheim, secretary; Andrew Dutcher, town of German Flatts, vice president; Tony Grescheck, Jr., town of Stark, treasurer; and Dillenbeck, town of Fairfield, scholarship chairman and former president.
    “It has been a pleasure and privilege to have known Norm Stahlman and to have worked alongside Norm on this scholarship. Norm was a true scholar himself and will be dearly missed and foremost remembered forever,” said Dillenbeck.
Terms of Service

    Events Calendar