The Telegram
  • Public assistance for federal flood aid extended

    • email print
  • Communities in Broome, Cortland, Herkimer, Madison and Oneida counties affected by severe storms and flooding earlier this year are eligible for additional public assistance through the Federal Emergency Management Agency.
    The agency extended the disaster period to run from June 26 through and including July 10. Previously, the disaster period ran through July 4.
    Local governments in designated counties will now be able to receive assistance for storm and flood damage costs incurred on the days between July 4 and July 10.
    U.S. Rep. Hanna had advocated for the disaster period to be extended.
    “Many communities in Central New York and the Southern Tier suffered from serious, ongoing flooding which began in late June, but continued throughout the first two weeks of July,” Hanna, R - Barneveld, said in a release. “Cleanup efforts still continue in many of our villages, towns and cities. I am pleased that federal funds are available to further assist our communities to help them recover as quickly as possible.”
    FEMA public assistance helps local governments pay for work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities.
Terms of Service

    Events Calendar